PDA

View Full Version : Cloud3D

dboggs
02-13-2012, 11:58 PM
I have been using 3d software for eight years now and love it but I'm looking to hire my first inspector who will be out of my area. And I'm just starting to do research on the cloud I like the size of a android tablet and correct me if I'm wrong but you down load the report from the cloud do the report and up loud it. Before you upload it can you insert pictures from your camera per USB port ? or do you have to wait til back at your desk top ? If you could do it between inspections and finish the report that would be great. Thanks the new guy

Donna
02-14-2012, 12:12 PM
In Phone3D you'd normally just take all your pictures directly into the mobile report right on the device itself, using the camera built right into the device, so the report is virtually complete before it is sent back. Inspectors tell us they LOVE that ability.

Check out the recent tips article on the main 3D website under User Community about using Phone3D/Cloud with multiple inspectors. It's a great way to set them up.

dboggs
02-16-2012, 11:36 PM
Inspectors take the phone into the crawlspace it seems you could damage it very easily ?

Donna
02-17-2012, 11:37 AM
Most of the newer devices all use gorrilla glass these days, so they are pretty tough, but you can always double-check the specs on a specific model. Plus there's lots of case accessories as well available to protect devices in various ways.

Of course it may be easier, especially if a crawl is real tight, to just make your observations and complete them after exiting. But having a nice small handy camera available could be useful, so it might be nice to your device/phone handy in a pocket, tethered, etc. so it's accessible should you decide to use it while you're in there.

What are you other guys out there doing?

dboggs
02-27-2012, 10:40 PM